Thank You, Father for the Car Accident

This is tough. A really tough one to write without sounding trite. But here we are, on a possible brink of a financial crisis and I know deep inside, all of this was orchestrated by God. He is the One that gives and the One that takes away, yet a prophetic word came through a friend, confirming what I already knew in my heart to be true, that I must be thankful.

And what does that mean right now? For me, it means that I can’t just thank Him for the good things that happened in the car accident, but I have to thank Him for the car accident, for this hit-and-run. I have to thank Him that it even happened, because if I do that, that truly shows Him that I trust Him with my whole heart, our fiscal future and then everything else that I needed to trust Him with.

The day before the car wreck God told me that I wasn’t trusting Him with my whole heart. I thought I was. I mean, I really did. We have been on pretty shaky ground lately and I thought we were trusting. Then the next day He took our only car that I thought I bought full coverage on.

But I was wrong.

It’s not fun to admit that I was wrong. It’s not a very good feeling to have found out I believed a lie, but I did. I trusted more in the circumstances that He set up rather than He Himself. I trusted more in the opportunities that He was bringing rather than in His heart.

“How long will you go here and there,
O faithless daughter? Jeremiah 31:22

Yup, that’s my verse, my conviction, my black mark.

Faithless, when I thought I had faith. Going here and there, when I wasn’t being still and really knowing in the depths of my soul that He is a God for me. Not trusting in what He has said so many times before.

So, here I am, truly grateful for the the car accident and not just the good, but the bad. Grateful for His refining fire, and I do mean fire. It hurts. But it’s worth it. Worth it to know that He loves me enough to discipline me because He cares about my actions and not being a fool, like a parent would correct a child’s foolish behavior.

But I know beyond a shadow of a doubt, that it’s in the dark places of choosing gratefulness, gratefulness of even a disaster, that generates that strong faith that will be able to move the mountains we so desperately need moved.

2 thoughts on “Thank You, Father for the Car Accident

  1. Hello, I am so sorry for everything you have been through and I think it’s awesome that you see that you need to trust God through it all. I got into a car accident yesterday June 23rd and have been feeling pretty bad about it. My insurance company ended up finding me at fault which I disagree with, but what can I do? My witness left so it was up to the claim adjusters to decide. Now we have to pay up and I feel terrible. We to are struggling with two kids, so every penny helps. I am a stay at home mom to my two little boys. I did a search on car accident and trusting god through it….that’ s when your post came up. As I read it I just knew that God wanted me to read it. So, thank you for writing everything! It has helped me so much! I was skimming through my bible just after the accident and came across Job as well, I can relate so much. God bless you and your family, remember God’s got it!!

    Like

    1. Oh man… I so pray that the Lord comforts you through all of this. It’s so hard. But He has to be making a way and doing something powerful in our hearts for His purposes, preparing us for bigger battles, because He is faithful. It makes all my pain worth it to know that it helped at least one other person! Thank you for sharing. I will be praying for you and your family. =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

