God Speaks in the Strangest Ways

Last Wednesday, I was at the park with my kids. I was pushing them on the swing, playing with them and helping them feed the ducks and geese. But behind all this interaction, the words, “hair tourniquet” kept rolling across my mind.

I vividly remember pushing my daughter on the tire swing and thinking, “Gosh, it would be so rough to be a baby and have a little piece of hair or string wrapped around your toe and not be able to do anything about it.”

This seemed too random to me. I mean, who thinks of hair tourniquets? My kid’s weren’t showing any signs of distress, so I didn’t do anything about it. But, it was stuck in my mind all morning, but then it went away.

Actually, being totally honest, I ignored it. I went about my day doing what I wanted to do and not really doing what God wanted me to do. I can say that because I had a really rough week last week and was looking to survive my surroundings by doing “my thing” and not “God’s thing.”

I mean, I should know this, I wrote a book on it! SMH

But, alas my flesh got the best of me and I knew it, even as I was making the decision, I knew it. I felt it when I announced my decision for our afternoon plans with my kids. I felt that tinge of God’s emotions toward my decision. I felt his disappointment, but like the embodiment of love that He is, He didn’t stop me. He let me continue on in my actions, even though it was costing someone else.

Fast-forward four days to Monday morning and my best friend calls for our weekly chat. Those conversations are always casual, filled with kids talking in the background and the occasional scream from either of our toddlers.

The topic of conversation wound-up on our kids, of course . . . because what else can mom’s squeeze in the short ten-minutes we get for a phone conversation?

She said, “Did I tell you the latest about Emma?” (Emma is her four-month old that was born through a miracle. It was God’s grace both Momma and baby survived).

“No,” I said.

She said, “Last Wednesday she had a hair tourniquet . . .”

hair tourniquet

“Last Wednesday?” I cut her off.

“Yes” she said.

I told her about how all morning that morning the word “hair tourniquet” was stuck in my head and I just couldn’t seem to get it out of my head!

“Why didn’t you call me?” She said laughingly.

“I didn’t know who or what it was for.” I said, both us astonished at the not-so coincidence.

“She had it all day long.” She said. “I had to take her to the doctor for it and they couldn’t get it off so then we had to take her to the ER to remove it. Finally they did, but her toe was so swollen, all the skin is dying now.”

“Oh my Gosh,” I said. “I wish I had known to call you.”

“Well next time call!” she exclaimed, still laughing at the correlation! “I know God speaks to you about her, so call me!”

“I will for sure!” I responded.

Now, thinking back on our conversation and all that happened, it just goes to show me that I can never be too humble about my day and what I am supposed to do. I can’t help but think, “What if I had just gotten on my face for a bit, like I was supposed to, and listened for God and maybe saved that poor baby some pain if I had just quieted myself?”

It’s the glory of God to conceal a matter, but the glory of kings to search it out, right?

I should have searched.

*Sigh* What’s done is done, but man, how many times do us, the children of God, have to learn the same lessons over and over again?

Thank God she is alright, but man it just goes to show how we are all connected and we never know how God is going to speak to us, but that mystery should always keep us searching. . .

searching

Searching for Him.

Leave a Reply

