We Will Eat the Fruit of Our Lips…

Someone told me that over six months ago and it still preaches volumes to me everyday. It’s been a hard pill to swallow that many of the results in my life have been from the harvest of the fruit of my lips.

It makes sense, right? The God of Israel is the God of choices and the first commandment was never to obey Him, but to love Him and out of that love we obey Him. In order for love to be love, it must always remain a choice. However, once someone opened my eyes to eating the fruit of my lips, I went back and looked up that “verse.” The Bible doesn’t say that exact phrase, but the whole Book is riddled with that concept, something I haven’t seen  before, even after thirteen years of walking with the Father.

I will post a few of the references for you here . . .

“An evil man is ensnared by the transgression of his lips, But the righteous will escape from trouble. A man will be satisfied with good by the fruit of his words, And the deeds of a man’s hands will return to him.” Proverbs 12:14

 

“With the fruit of a man’s mouth his stomach will be satisfied; He will be satisfied with the product of his lips.” Proverbs 18:20

 

“Incline your ear and hear the words of the wise, And apply your mind to my knowledge; For it will be pleasant if you keep them within you, That they may be ready on your lips.” Proverbs 22:17-18

See what I mean? And that’s only three of them. There are so many more, too! I’m sure that you are even coming up with several right now.  I want to expound more on this premise in later posts, but this simple truth has caused me to look at problems in my life in a different light. I look at them as, “what words have I spoken or thoughts have I thought that have created this unpleasant circumstance I face today?”

It’s a lot of responsibility, but talk about keeping me on my knees in repentance day-in and day-out. But not only in repentance, but working on keeping my mouth within the constraints of a strong bit and bridle. As David wrote, “I will guard my ways That I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth as with a muzzle While the wicked are in my presence” (Psalm 39:1).

I know I haven’t posted in quite sometime. Some of it has to do with lack of time but mostly  it has to do with keeping a stern watch on my tongue (and my fingers on a keyboard)! And as Moses wrote in Deuteronomy 32:3, “Because I will publish the name of the LORD: ascribe ye greatness unto our God.”

I’m thinking that that is the purpose of everything in life; publishing the name of יְהֹוָה and every concrete characteristic of His that’s described in each book of the Bible.

 

©Olivia Reid, 2016

Follow on Twitter, @reidpublishing1

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Will Eat the Fruit of Our Lips…

Leave a Reply

