Rummaging for Hope

I laid in bed thinking that these last few days could be the last comforting days of ignorance…. The not knowing of who is going to be elected and all the fears that knowledge brings. Soon all the guessing will be over, no more anticipation, no more losing friends over elections. Americans will know in 10 days if there is still a chance to turn some things around for the better or if the America as we have known and understood it will come to an end. A part of me doesn’t want these elections to come, but I know it’s time for a change. This is truly what it’s like to be between a rock and a hard place. My heart has known the grief of losing loved ones, parents, siblings, homes, a fiancé, money…… but the grief of losing a nation, is a grief that seems too overwhelming to face because it encompasses our children’s futures. America, once a global beacon of freedom, hope and prosperity could soon end. My mind can hardly get around that thought and all the details it entails. I am reminded of the rise, reign and fall of Portugal. A tiny country once one of the richest and one of the most powerful in the world, came crashing down.

The entire world’s sociological, ideological and economical tectonic plates are shifting, making every next move feel like a life of death decision. Where do we step next? How much money should we spend on groceries, clothes or anything for the home when we could be saving money for something far more important, like fleeing for safety? These are questions that rush through my brain at times and then I stop.

I regroup my sanity, my faith and my hope and realize this world is not my home.

It never was.

My children were never really mine. They belong to Someone else.

They always have. My life is not my own. It never was. My every breath is in Someone’s hands.

And then I brave it, with all my heart, with all my soul and with all my strength . . . to love and to trust the God of Israel. The One who made a nation out of 12 brothers, a father and four mothers. A dysfunctional family, filled with jealousy, hate, love, vengeance, sin, righteousness, trust and fear. A truly human family, that because of Adonai’s great pleasure decided to lead Israel into Mitsrayim/Egypt as a story for hope for generations of nations to relate to. Even though monarchies rise and fall, democracies rise and fall, hopes and dreams rise and fall, one thing remains certain:

“For if God did not spare angels when they sinned, but cast them into hell and committed them to pits of darkness, reserved for judgment; 5 and did not spare the ancient world, but preserved Noah, a preacher of righteousness, with seven others, when He brought a flood upon the world of the ungodly; 6 and if He condemned the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah to destruction by reducing them to ashes, having made them an example to those who would live ungodly lives thereafter; 7 and if He rescued righteous Lot, oppressed by the sensual conduct of unprincipled men 8 (for by what he saw and heard that righteous man, while living among them, felt his righteous soul tormented day after day by their lawless deeds), 9 then the Lord knows how to rescue the godly from temptation, and to keep the unrighteous under punishment for the day of judgment, 10 and especially those who indulge the flesh in its corrupt desires and despise authority.” II Peter 2:4-10

®Olivia Reid, 2016

Follow on Twitter, @reidpublishing1

 

Leave a Reply

